Yes, I can!

21Oct12

I tell you: pear jam caused real frustration in my life. Well, ok, it wasn’t that bad, but it was frustrating, though. The first time, I’ve tasted pear jam, was in France in… let me think… 1993, I think. It was a friend of my mother, who had made it, and since then, I’ve loved this jam. Sometimes I’ve got a glass from her, once my mother made some pear jam, always very yummy. 2 years ago, I thought, I could make some pear jam myself. Bought pears, put in walnuts for creating something oh-so-special, and discovered that the pears didn’t have any taste (Now, 2 years later, the jam turns out to taste like walnut. Pear? No.). This year, I tried to make pear butter, a recipe in the book “complete book of home preserving” by J. Kingry and L. Devine. Didn’t think about measuring the cups of sugar in kg to see how much it would be – and it was a complete fail. No taste of pears, only sweet, sweet, sweet. I nearly gave up my dream of a yummy, pear-tasting jam. Until I’ve seen ripe, fragrant pears, when I wanted to get quickly some apples and bananas during the week. I just couldn’t let them in the shop, I had to buy them. They seemed to be the right pears for jam!

And the jam turned out to be perfect. The secret is too simple: Just use ripe, fragrant, juicy pears. Don’t even try to use harder ones.

For about 5-6 glasses of jam, use

about 1,5 kg ripe, fragrant, juicy pears (peeled and cut about 1 kg)
500 g of gelling sugar 2:1 (sugar with pectine)
juice of one lemon

Put the pears with the sugar into a pot, bring everything to a boil. Boil for some minutes until the pears are soft. Blend with a handheld blender. Boil again, try if the jam is done (if a drop gellies easily on a plate, it’s ok), fill it into clean glasses (rinse them with boiling water before), close the lids, turn the glasses immediately top-down, let it cool for some minutes, turn the glasses again and let them cool.

By the way, a friend gave me finally a logical anwer why you should turn the glasses. It has nothing to do with a vacuume. It’s just for heating the lids and the whole content of the glass (I want to say: the air, too) quickly, so that mean bacteria would be killed quicker.

No Responses Yet to “Yes, I can!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

