Gnocchi!

13Apr12

For about 5 months I have been a proud inhabitant of an apartment with a balcony now. And of course, this is the perfect place to have some herbs. And of couuuuurse I needed a pot of sage.

Well… I thought, I should finally use some of the sage – why have I always been dreaming of herbs at the balcony and then I don’t use them? No, no, no. But what to have with sage? Of course: gnocchi. (Yeah, you can’t see any sage in the picture, but it’s true! I used sage!)

I’ve been thinking of them for about 5 days. Today was the day: I made gnocchi. Went to the supermarket and got potatoes. Mehligkochend. How to say mehligkochend in English? Ah, starchy, saiys Leo.

Looked for recipes in the internet. Looked here and there and found out, that you don’t need eggs. Cool. I didn’t feel like using eggs. So I tried this vegan recipe. Omitted paprika and parsley and made a quick sage butter sauce (would have been too stupid to make gnocchi for using sage and making gorgonzola sauce instead). You’re already bored of my words? Let’s make gnocchi!

You need for 2:

500 g potatoes (yeah, the starchy ones)
75 g flour
75 g semolina
75 g starch flour

maybe some more flour
salt
nutmeg

For the sauce:
300 ml veggie stock
about 50-75 g butter (nope. this is not vegan. I know.)
about 10-15 sage leaves
if you want: some dried tomatoes.

First, peel the potatoes and boil them. Mash them in a bowl (don’t use a mixer!!), knead in semolina, flour and starch, using your hand. It should be quite a dry dough. Don’t knead too long, just as long as necessary. If it’s sticky, add some flour.

On a floured surface, make rolls (about 2 cm diameter), cut them in little pieces of about 2 cm and roll them over a fork. If you don’t understand what I mean, watch here. Put the gnocchi on a floured plate.

In a laaaaarge pot, bring a lot of salted water to a boil.

Meanwhile prepare the sauce: Boil the veggie stock with the chopped dried tomatoes and the chopped sage. Add the cold butter and let it simmer.

As soon as the water boils, add the gnocchi and wait until they show up at the surface. Using a slotted spoon, get them out of the water and put them into the sauce.

Serve with freshly ground pepper and freshly ground parmigiano!

No Responses Yet to “Gnocchi!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

