A cake walk

28Sep11

Yeah, I seam to dance a little cake walk in the kitchen these weeks… But I don’t eat only cake. For being honest, I also made a focaccia last week, but due to optical failure I couldn’t take a picture of it. So the focaccia has to wait. Meanwhile I made a cake that was a mix of ideas. I wanted to use apples (as it’s apple time!), make a yeast dough (as I still had yeast left from the focaccia which I can’t show to you) and try to make a variation of Grießschmierkuchen, a traditional cake in the Oberpfalz.

Until now I only knew the Kirwakuchen  (which belongs to the family of Schmierkuchen, especially the Grießschmierkuchen) which my grandmother brought from the Oberpfalz when she was visiting her family there. This is long ago, and my grandmother can’t tell me anymore how to make this cake. Then I found the book “delicious days” by Nicole Stich in the book store. Saw a recipe for Kirwakuchen and bought it. Only for this recipe. Tried it sometimes, thought that Grießschmiere (=semolina cream) would also be good with cinnamom (instead of saffron) – and hey, so I had my recipe for the weekend: yeast dough, Grießschmier and apples.

I had the cake with friends – test passed – recipe has to be noted.

Actually, I made the dough in the evening, put it in the fridge for the night, got it out and let it rest for about 30 minutes.

You wanna try?

dough:
375 g flour
50 g soft butter
about 200 ml milk
a pinch of salt
125 g sugar

Grießschmier:
3/4 l milk
125 g semolina
125 g sugar
about 1 tsp cinnamom (to taste)
(I also added leftover-yoghurt, about 5-6 tblsp)

a handful of raisins, a good shot of rum

apples:
about 10 normal sized apples
about 1 tblsp brown sugar

In the evening:
Make a dough of the dough ingredients, knead well, cover it (I use a kitchen towel…) and put it in the fridge overnight.
Put raisins and rhum together in a bowl, cover, let sit overnight.

The next morning, get the dough out of the fridge.

In a pot, heat the milk until boiling, stir in semolina and sugar. Let boil once again, stir well. Add cinnamom. Put away from the stove, stir in the butter. Let the mix cool down, stir in the egg and the raisins (in my case, the yoghurt, too).

Preheat the oven (180°C). Roll out the dough on a baking sheet. Spread the Grießschmier on top. Let it rise. Meanwhile peel the apples and cut them (I cored them and sliced them).

Cover the Grießschmier with apples. If you want, sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake for about 40-50 minutes.

 

Of course, you can also make the dough in the “traditional” way with lukewarm milk and no time in the fridge. Let it rise on a warm place until its volume has doubled, instead.

 

No Responses Yet to “A cake walk”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

