It’s still summer!

25Jul11

Everybody complains about the weather. But hey, today there was sun! (This bright thing in the sky, you know…) So it was a perfect day for a summer salad.

I didn’t feel like going to the supermarkets I usually go to, so this time, I went to the Turkish supermarket that’s not far away. Oh, I love it – you’re suddenly in another world.

There I bought mint and cilantro as well as tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurt with 10% fat and a juice. Well, I wasn’t sure about the juice, but as soon as I’ve read the German list of ingredients, I knew that I had to buy it – just look! (Ok, it’s only funny, if you know German) – I love the text!

Well. Back to the salad. It’s an Indian Bread-Salad – recipe in the book “delicious days” by Nicole Stich. It’s with toasted bread and says that while toasting the bread, the odours of the far east are in your kitchen. I haven’t known until now that the far east smells a bit burned. Probably there was something wrong in my kitchen technique.

For a big bowl for 2-4 people (depends on hunger!):

2 tomatoes (Nicole uses 300 g cherry tomatoes)
1 cucumber
1 can of chickpeas (240g net weight)
1 red onion
1 chili (red)
one handful cilantro leaves
one handful mint leaves
(I added a lot of parsley and chives)

6 tblsp oil
2 tblsp vinegar (from white wine – I needed more)
salt, pepper, 1/2 tsp sugar

200g white bread

5 tblsp ghee (I used oil)
1 tblsp cumin seeds (crushed in the mortar)
1 tblsp garam masala (I used ordinary curry powder…)

If you wish, greek yogurt.

Chop the veggies (and the chili) and the herbs. Drain the chick peas, rinse them, put them together with the veggies in a big bowl.

Make a dressing with oil, sugar, salt, pepper and vinegar. Combine with the salad in the big bowl. Let sit for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, cut the bread into little pieces. In a skillet, heat the Ghee, put in the seasonings and toast the bread until golden brown. Don’t let it burn…

Serve everything together!

2 Responses to “It’s still summer!”

  1. This sounds delicious! I think the burnt smell generally comes with roasting bread in the pan. Lat weekend I made croutons for soup. They turned out great (yes, golden brown), but the air in the kitchen could be cut with a very blunt knife.

  2. It is delicious :-) (Ok, so I won’t worry about the smell. Nevertheless… the bread was more than “golden brown”, I think it’s not a synonym for “black”… ahem… well… next time it will be a full success. I’m sure!


Leave a Reply

