Pasta-Origami

25Jun11

Some days ago I found again this blog-entry at lamiacucina. And then I dreamed some days of making these Culurgiones. I love the shape! I just wondered a little bit about pasta filled with potatoes and mint. Potatoes in pasta? Mint and tomato sauce? Well… For the potatoes, there was a big pro: as they’re not creamy, the pasta should be easier to fill. So I dared to make Culurgiones.

Result: great. Greeeeeat. GREEEEEEAT!!!!

The silky-creamy-velvety-I-don’t-kno-how-to-describe consistency of the potatoes with the light taste of mint and cheese – oh, it was soooo good. And not so hard to make. Well, it takes some time, yes. But it’s a nice spare-time-activity.

Having watched the video that Robert has linked in his blog entry, I tried my first one. Result:

 

The second one was the same. There was a mistake. Which one? I watched again the video and found out, that I had to put the end which I had pinched together in the new fold. Ah… how to explain it… Maybe like this:


Then it worked quite well. Ok, the women on the video make nicer ones, but that weren’t their first ones!

You wanna try, too? Start now:

First, invite two people as the amout you’re gonna make should be enough for three.

Then make a dough of

200g durum wheat semolina
90 g water

Knead well, wrap it, put it in the fridge for 1h.

Take 4oo g potatoes, steam them until done. Peel them, mash them, crumble in 2-3 pinches of dried mint, grate about 200 g Pecorino sardo (or another tasty cheese should do as well), season with salt. When the potatoes have cooled down, add the pecorino. Knead a little bit with your hands, form rolls of about 2 cm in diameter and cut about 30-35 pieces of 3-4 cm. Set aside.

Roll out the dough (I asked Manovelletta to help me – I rolled it out until 3/7), cut rounds of about 9 cm in diameter.

Fill the dough as shown in the video.

For the sauce, sauté 1 onion (Robert uses garlic and no onion – I considered my colleagues…) in olive oil, then cut 3-4 tomatoes in cubes and add them. Sauté well until creamy. Season with basil, oregano, salt, and pepper.

Cook the culurgiones in a lot of hot water for 4-5 minutes. Serve them with the sauce and some Pecorino or Parmigiano (that’s what I did…) – maybe in a nicer way than I did:

6 Responses to “Pasta-Origami”

  1. 1 Micha

    Salut,
    lustiges Blog! Und als erstes ne doofe Frage: du bist doch Deutsche, oder? Warum auf englisch? Oder hast du das vielleicht irgendwo erklärt und ich nich gelesen?

    • …ja, ich bin Deutsche. und ja, ich hab das irgendwo erklärt und Du hast es nicht gelesen. Is aber schon lang her, nämlich im ersten Blogeintrag, also ist das ja nicht schlimm. Bevor ich hier jetzt mit einer Verlinkerei dahin anfange, hier in Kürze: Da ich auch viele Leute kenne, die kein Deutsch können und hin und wieder nach Rezepten gefragt haben, hab ich mich für die Allerweltssprache Englisch entschieden. Latein ist ja nicht mehr die Sprache, die als allgemein bekannt angesehen wird – und mein Latein reicht nicht mal für Küchenlatein… ;-)
      neidische Grüße nach Südfrankreich (ooooh, la Fraaaaaance…)!

  2. Oh my god! They look awesome! Unfortunately all the handicraft genes went to my little sis ;-)
    Maybe one day on a rainy November sunday :-)

    • sieht viel krasser aus als es ist – und wenn man’s einmal gerafft hat, dann geht’s schon! und macht echt spaß. ich mag ja sachen, die schon während der herstellung schön sind.
      und mit der kartoffelfüllung ist das keine schlimme batzelei…

  3. Your cartoon looks like a pattern for sewing. I had a ripping good time.


  1. 1 Austrian pasta « la grosse mere

Leave a Reply

