Rhubarbanana

08Jun11

The recipe says that this are muffins. Rhubarb upside-down muffins. The reality said that I’ve made a cake. Rhubarb-banana-upside-down. Same recipe with just 2 bananas more.

Too bad that upside-down-cakes never look really good. At least the ones I’ve made. Maybe I should learn how to decorate them nicely?! But the most important thing is the taste, and yes, in this category, the cake has won!

I followed the recipe of the rhubarb upside-down Muffins in the book “Great coffee cakes, sticky buns, muffins & more” by Carole Walter. I bought the book because of the sticky buns (don’t ask me if I’ve already tried the one recipe for sticky buns. I thought that I would find tons of recipes for different sticky buns, but no… on recipe. Or is there only one way to make them? Or is this just marketing?!) – and started with this cake.

Why I’ve made a cake? I was fearing that the muffins would stick to the muffin tins and was worrying for my heart pressure. I can be very impatient. Especially when I want to eat cake…

And I’ve added banana – I like the combination of rhubarb and banana. The sour and the sweet, what a nice fairytale!

Enough tales, here is the recipe:

Butter a pan of 9×13 inches well.

40 g butter
3/4 cup brown sugar (=about 190 ml)
1 pound rhubarb
2 bananas
the recipe asks for orange zest, I added a good splash of Grand Marnier instead

1 1/2 cups flour (375 ml)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamom
a good pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
90 g butter or margarine
1/2 cup (about 125 ml) brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar (about 60 ml)
1 large egg
vanilla
3/4 cup (I used 200g) sour cream
2 tblsp milk

Prepare the rhubarb, cut it into little pieces. Peel the bananas and cut them into pieces. Melt the butter (the 40 g) over low heat. Add the sugar (3/4 cup) and stir until dissolved. Add the orange zest and cook until bubbly. Add the rhubarb, let it cook for some minutes, add the banana and continue for some more minutes, then put everything in the cake pan and spread it evenly.

Set aside.

Preheat the oven (175-180°C)

Stir together flour, baking powder and baking soda as well as the seasonings.

cream together butter (or margarin) and the sugar. Add the egg, beat well.

Stir in the flour, then the sour cream. Don’t beat it too long, just as long as necessary until you have a nice batter.

Put the batter on top of the rhubarb evenly. Bake for about 25-30 minutes. (Test with a toothpick).
Let it cool down a little bit, then turn the cake on a plate.

 

No Responses Yet to “Rhubarbanana”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

