Color your life!

12Mar11

I’ve never really liked cabbage salad. However, I’m learning to cope with it. Regional and seasonal cuisine is asking for cabbage-use. Since I’ve read that it’s advisable to knead the cut cabbage with salt to soften it, my dislike for cabbage salad is getting less.

In Nicky’s book “delicious days” I’ve found a recipe for a red cabbage salad with a cool mix of ingredients I like (feta cheese, apple, fennel) and with ingredients I should enhance in my daily menu plan (fruits, fruits. I don’t like to eat fruits. 5 a day? Well, for the fruit-part you have to hide the fruits to make me eat them…). And yes – this salad is really yummy!!

Due to my food stocks that differed from the recipe in the book, I made a huge bowl of salad (yeah, something for my bento!) and changed the amounts of the ingredients – but recipes exist only to give you ideas, don’t they?

I took:

1/2 red cabbage

1 orange
1 apple
1 fennel

180g feta cheese

1/2 lemon
olive oil

salt, pepper

Grate the cabbage (or chop it finely), drizzle it with about 1 tsp of salt and knead it well with your hand until it’s softer.

Peel the orange, cut it in pieces, make sure to keep the juice. Add orange pieces and their juice to the cabbage.

Cut the apple, add it as well.

Cut the fennel, add it (surprise, surprise!) to the salad.

Squeeze the lemon, add the juice to the salad. Drizzle with olive oil, crumble the feta chees, combine everything together, season with salt and pepper, let it sit for 1/2-1 hour. (Depends on your hunger…)

No Responses Yet to “Color your life!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

