Quick.

24Nov10

Yesterday I went home from work and I was hungry. I didn’t feel like cooking. But after a monday of sandwiches (morning, lunch and evening, and nothing else except some coffee) I needed some “real” food.

As there was nothing in the fridge, I had to get the groceries. And I found what I needed: a kind of instant noodles that I get usually from the Asia-store. This time, I found it in the organic-food-store. (No, I don’t buy noodles by internet, it’s just to show which kind of noodles I mean.)

Then I prepared my supper. My lunch for today, too. Did I write about one year ago that this is a blog for single cooks? Forget it. I make always too much. No only-one-person-only-one-meal-recipes. Sorry. I failed.

The stuff that I prepared is one of my quick classics. Absolutely nothing special, no real seasoning, just quick food that tastes good nevertheless.

I took:

100-125 g of tofu

about 20 cm of a leek (you can also use scallions or a small onion)
1 carrot (use, whatever you find in the fridge)
4 leaves of Chinese cabbage (optional…)

1 handful of these instant noodles
1/2 cup of water
about 4 tbslp of soy sauce

about 2-3 tblsp neutral tasting oil

In a large skillet, heat the oil. Meanwhile, cut the tofu into tiny little cubes. Then fry them in the oil for about 4-5 minutes. I don’t like tofu when it’s cut into big cubes and wobbly, but if you fry it hot enough, it get’s a less wobbly texture.

While the tofu is getting a little crispy on the edges, chop the leek and the carrots. Reduce the heat a little bit, add the veggies. Cut the Chinese cabbage. Add it. Add the water and the noodles. Stir in the soy sauce. Let simmer for some minutes until the noodles are done.

Before, I often put the noodles in a separate bowl and poured water that I had boiled in the water kettle over them. After some minutes, I drained them and added them to the veggies. But my “new” technique needs no extra pot ;-)

One Response to “Quick.”

  1. Quick and simple.
    And suitable to cook in the office (at least at my place of work). Wonderful.


Leave a Reply

