…and once again: Pasta

31Aug10

In the book “Delicious days” by Nicole Stich (the author of this blog) is a recipe for risotto with gorgonzola and apple. I had to try it – it was very good. But sometimes, I don’t feel like risotto, so I make pasta with gorgonzola and apple. Easy, tasty, interesting: the sweet apple matches perfectly with the gorgonzola. Thank you for the idea, Nicky!

For a big meal for me, I take:

100-125 g of pasta

1/2 small onion
oil
1/2-1 apple
50 g gorgonzola (or other blue cheese)
a little bit of water
pepper
salt
nutmeg

freshly grated Parmigiano

Boil the pasta in salted water.
Meanwhile, chop the onions and sauté them in oil until translucent (I use my big skillet). Peel the apple, chop it into small cubes and add them to the onions. Before everything starts to burn, add a little bit of water (some tablespoons) and continue simmering. If needed, add more water.

Drain the pasta when it’s done.

Continue simmering the apples until they are done. Season with a little bit of salt (be cautious – you are going to add Gorgonzola which contains quite a lot of salt, too!), pepper and nutmeg.

Cut the Gorgonzola into cubes. Add the cubes to the apples as soon as they are done and stir well. If neeeded, add a little bit of water.

Add the pasta and mix everything well. Serve with grated Parmigiano.

3 Responses to “…and once again: Pasta”

  1. Sounds really great! I do like the combination of fruity apples with gorgonzola :-) And perfect after work :-)

  2. I’d suggest substituting the apple with a pear or some figs.

    • hm, pears yes, I fully agree. Figs, I don’t know. But being honest, I have to admit that I never buy figs and that I have never cooked with figs. Maybe I should give it a try! Apples are always in the house… ;-)


Leave a Reply

