Quick fresh tomato sauce

04Aug10

Sometimes I like to watch “Lanz kocht”. And when I saw this easy tomato sauce, I had to try it the next time I used my oven. It’s quick, it’s easy, and it’s yummie – a cool sauce for pasta or rice or even potatoes when the oven is already heated for other stuff. I wouldn’t heat the oven to make only this sauce, but if you’re baking a cake and get hungry while baking – no problem!

For a quantity that’s enough for 1-2 persons, I used:

3 tomatoes
1/4-1/2 small onion
1 small garlic clove
a little bit of fresh rosemary (due to a lack of other fresh herbs like basil or thyme)
a pinch of salt
a pinch of pepper
a pinch of sugar
olive oil

Cut the tomatoes in quarters and put them on a baking pan. Cut onions and garlic and put them on top of the tomatoes. Add fresh herbs, season with salt, pepper, and sugar. Drizzle with olive oil.

Put the pan into the hot (180°C) oven and bake for 15 minutes.

Then put everything in a blender, blend the mix, and you’re done.

1 garlic clove made a pretty garlicky sauce, so be careful to find the right dose.

PS: I made it again, and it was quite liquid. I think, this could also be a great quick tomato soup… mmmmmh!

2 Responses to “Quick fresh tomato sauce”

  1. My favourite tomato soup ever is made similarly, but with a lot more brouhaha – skinning the tomatos, roasting longer etc. – but this sounds like a nice, quit alternative.

  2. quick, I meant quick.


Leave a Reply

