Did Mme Curie eat Curry?

31Jul10

I like Thai-style curries with coconut milk. Sometimes. Not every week. Most recipes ask for curry paste, then you buy a pot of curry paste, use it once – and then it starts its sad life of waiting for the next use in the fridge. One pot of curry paste is just too much for my European one-person-houshold. Some years ago – when I spent one year in France – I was invited for a curry (you have to pronounce it a little bit like “Curie”, as it was in France) – and I liked it. It was similar to the Thai-style-Curries, but with no curry paste.

Curries are pretty handy, as you can add nearly every veggie you want, just use what you can find and what you can imagine being part of a curry.

Of course, Curry-aficionados will say: “oh, that’s no real curry”, but I don’t care. I liked it and I don’t know the real original – so for me, this is no problem. I always eat it with basmati rice to make a whole meal.

Let’s start to make the curry for 1 veeeeery hungry person or for 2:

1/2 apple
1 little piece of fresh ginger (about the size of 1/2 of the top part of your thumb)
1 little garlic clove
1/2-1 tsp of curry powder
1/4 tsp of chili powder

oil

1 small onion (I used 1 scallion this time)
veggies (I used 1 tomato, 1/2 bell pepper and 1 small zucchino; it’s also yummie for texture reasons to add 1 small potato in cubes)
200 ml coconut milk

If you want and if you have: 1 handful of cashews

Preparation:
In a pot, heat the oil and sauté the onions until translucent. Chop the veggies and add them. Continue sautéing and stir once in a while.

While sautéing, grate the apple and the ginger finely. Press the garlic clove and add it to the grated apple-ginger-mix. Stir in chili and curry powder.

Add the apple-mix and the coconut milk to the veggies. Bring to a boil and wait some minutes until the veggies are done. Add the cashews (if you want to add some).

Season with salt, chili and curry (if needed).

Serve with basmati rice.

2 Responses to “Did Mme Curie eat Curry?”

  1. Sounds really good! Maybe I should give coconut milk another chance as coconuts is one of the few things I really don’t like! I should definitely cook asian more often …

    • If you know only shredded coconut, you should give it a try – coconut milk tastes different. If you taste it pure, it may taste a little bit like soap, but with ginger and garlic it’s a tasty mix, I think!
      And if you really don’t like it, well… there are lots of other yummie things. For me, life is also good without brussel sprouts, for example…


Leave a Reply

