Taboulé

14Jul10

I don’t know any more when I had my first Taboulé, but I know that it was in France. It’s a perfect summer salad and it’s perfect for a bento – well chilled for hot summer days.

Of course, there are different versions to make a Taboulé. From a Lebanese colleague I learned that the Lebanese version is made with no mint – but that’s why I love this dish: the refreshing mint mixed with the zing of lemon juice and the taste of olive oil. Mint is used in the North African version, he told me.

My colleague makes it with bulgur; as I have already told you, I do love couscous for these salads, so I don’t give up my old habits and continue preparing it with couscous.

For a big bowl (3-4 people) you need:

1 cup (about 250 ml) of couscous
a pinch of salt

1/4 tsp of cumin
1/4 cup (about 60 ml) of raisins – if you don’t feed any raisin-haters

1 big tomato
1/2 cucumber
1/2 – 1 bell pepper
1/2 scallion
1 handful of parsley leaves
1 handful of mint leaves (in case of emergency, dried mint leaves like Nana Minze will do…)

juice of 1/2-1 lemon
4-6 tblsp olive oil

In a big bowl, mix together the couscous, the cumin, the salt and the raisins. Boil 1 cup of water (or the amount asked on the package of the couscous – read the preparing instructions) and add it to the couscous. Let sit for some minutes and then stir a little bit with a fork to avoid lumps.

Chop the herbs, cut the veggies into little cubes.

Put everything in the bowl, add lemon juice and olive oil, stir well and chill it in the fridge. Serve it cold.

No Responses Yet to “Taboulé”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

