A must-make summer salad

07Jul10

Since I’ve seen this recipe, I had it several times in my bento – it’s refreshing, it’s easy and very good. So I decided to post it here as everybody should know this quick salad.

for my bento I make it like this:

1/2 cucumber
about 10 radishes
about 75-100 g feta cheese
about 1 handful of parsley
1/2 handful of fresh mint leaves
2 pinches of black cumin (Schwarzkümmel) – the stuff you find on top of Turkish pita bread)
juice of 1/2 lemon
olive oil

cut the cucumbers and the radishes as well as the feta cheese. Chop parsley and mint. Combine everything in a salad bowl, season with cumin, salt and pepper. Drizzle with lemon juice and olive oil. Cool the salad to have a maximum of refreshment.

If I don’t have fresh mint, I use herbal tea: Nana Minze (a good quality herbal mint tea) and crumble the leaves.

2 Responses to “A must-make summer salad”

  1. 1 Anna-Maria

    i only recently discovered mint for salads…. amazing!! (just don’t use slightly old leaves, they taste pretty bitter)

  2. 2 Anikó

    Oh, I love black cumin! Have to try it in a salad! Sounds really perfect for an office lunch when it’s so hot!


Leave a Reply

