Green food for friday

18Jun10

It’s always the same: you need just a little bit of parsley. You go to the grocery store and buy a bunch as you can’t buy less. Then you use some leaves. And the remains? Well, they become part of a sad story.

With this salad not any more!

It’s a recipe of “Die Küche der Frauen” by C. Maslakian et al. – a cool book with recipes from around the world. (Don’t be scared by the title – everyone who sees this book in my book shelf asks me “Die Küche der Frauen??” (the cuisine of women?!), but I do like the book!). It’s a recipe from Sri Lanka. If it’s really original, I don’t know, I’ve never been there.

The recipe asks for Trockenfischbrösel (“maldive fish chips” is written in the recipe), too – I just omitted them as I don’t have any at home. And by the way: Trockenfischbrösel doesn’t sound very appealing to me. As I don’t know the original, I don’t mind – I like this salad in its vegetarian version.

The ingredients:

1 bunch of parsley
1 tomato
1/4 of a small onion
1 lime (make sure to use a lime and not a lemon -a lemon is no alternative for this recipe!)
3 tblsp of shredded dried coconut (Kokosflocken)
1 pinch of chili powder

Chop the parsley, cut the tomato in small cubes. Chop the onion very finely. Put everything in a salad bowl. Combine coconut and chili in a small bowl, wet it a little bit (use your fingers*) and combine this mix with the chopped veggies.
Mix with the lime juice, season with salt.

*let me give you the important advice which you can also read in the washrooms of the airport of Frankfurt (thank you, my dear airport, for telling me important things I haven’t known before): wash your hands thoroughly.

2 Responses to “Green food for friday”

  1. Please specify ‘a bunch of parsley’. I’m used to the Turkish bunch-sizes for parsley and they are huge. On the right is a normal bunch of parsley (well, normal for the Turkish market):

  2. Oh… ok… ;-) I would say maybe something between 1/2 and 3/4 of a Turkish-style bunch of parsley would be the equivalent of a bunch of parsley I mean…


Leave a Reply

