Family classics aren’t always German classics

30May10

If you would ask a German how to eat asparagus in the classic way, he would tell you to eat it with sauce Hollandaise and potatoes. If you would ask me, I would tell you to eat it as a salad. I can remember only one trial that my mom made asparagus with sauce Hollandaise – to switch again to her way to prepare it. Forever.

I prefer my mom’s way, too. Maybe for tradition, maybe for family habits or maybe really because of the taste. Anyways, I think you should try it!

You need:

500 g of asparagus

salt (maybe 1/2 tsp)
1-1,5 tsp sugar

about 75 ml of vinegar (my mom uses vinegar made of white wine. I used the one I had in my kitchen…)
2-3 tblsp oil

chopped chives

pepper (my mom says white pepper)

Peel the asparagus, cut the ligneous ends. Put them in a large pot, cover with salted water, add the sugar. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let simmer for about 15-20 minutes. Try with a little knife if they’re done (as you do for potatoes). Don’t put away the boiling water!

Then put the asparagus stems in a large pan (I use a rectangle pan for gratins/casseroles). Mix the boiling water (I had 600 ml) with the vinegar. This will be a very sharp (not only sour, but “vinegar-sharp”) mix, but that’s ok. Cover the asparagus with this mix and let sit for a while (maybe 1 hour).

Then add pepper, oil and chives – and you’re ready to serve the Mama-style-asparagus!

3 Responses to “Family classics aren’t always German classics”

  1. 1 Anna-Maria

    mama hat’s grad heute mittag spargel gemacht: salat fuer papa, warm mit butter fuer sie und mich. sooo lecker. bin verfechter der warmen version (mache derzeit 3mal die woche hollandaise… vom topf auf die huefte. yeah.)

  2. 2 Anikó

    Hört sich wirklich gut an! Was ißt man denn dazu? Brot oder ne Kartoffel? Meine Mutter ist ja vom Spargelkochen aufs Spargelbraten übergegangen :-)

    • wir haben neulich Kartoffelgratin dazu gegessen. Daheim gibt’s dann halt oft Fleisch und Kartoffeln und Spargel wie hier.
      Aber Kartoffel muß für mich schon sein :-)


Leave a Reply

