Nothing new, nothing special, a little bit boring, but good and important

17May10

People often ask me how I make my standard salad dressing. I think I’ve already told you – but not as a general recipe for a salad dressing, but in a recipe for a special salad. So I put it here again as my standard salad dressing. If you’re bored by a partial-coming-back-recipe: I don’t force you to continue reading this post and I promise: I’m not starting posts of eternal repeats here! This is an exception.

For my salad dressing, I use

1 tsp mustard
2 tsp oil
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp vinegar

Stir well until you get a creamy dressing. I don’t use salt or herbs or pepper, but of course, you can vary as you want. I always use “tasteless” oil – I don’t like this dressing made with olive oil, but if you want, you can use it.

My mother uses less sugar and Dijon mustard – I prefer the sweeter version with boring, ordinary mustard.

However you see: you can vary as much as you want!

It’s good with any green salad. Or with tomatoes (for an only-tomato-salad, I would use less sugar, I think). Or in a lentil salad. Just try.

No Responses Yet to “Nothing new, nothing special, a little bit boring, but good and important”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

