I am delighted!

25Apr10

These cookies – their name is “Espresso Delights” – are great. Like most of the cookies of “the ultimate cookie book” of Better Homes and Gardens – I bought this book last year when I visited my sister in New York; of course I had to buy a cookbook. I’m still testing all these recipes, but having tested only some of them I can already tell you: it has been a good idea to buy this book.

Wanna have 3 baking trays of these yummie cookies (I have doubled the ingredients. They are too good) that taste like a good cup of coffee? Don’t wait – grab the ingredients and start:

Make a dough (start kneading butter, sugar and coffee together, add the flour, in the end add the chocolate)

of
2 cups cold butter (=330 g)
1 cup (=250 ml) of powdered sugar (I used normal sugar when I made them the second time and I wasn’t quit satisfied with the consistency. So I advise you to use powdered sugar)
2 tblsp instant coffee crystals (yes, yes, the recipe asks for instant espresso powder… I don’t have any as I hate instant coffee in general… So I used some I still had for baking)
vanilla
1 tsp ground cinnamom
4 cups flour (=about 1 l)
2 ounces (= about 50 g) of dark chocolate, finely chopped.

With your hands, form little balls (about 2,5 cm diameter) of the dough and flatten them just a little bit, not completely. Put them on a baking tray (leave enough space between the cookies, they will melt a little bit) and bake them for about 12 minutes at 180°C.

Let them cool and dust them with powdered sugar and unsweetened cocoa powder.

No Responses Yet to “I am delighted!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

