The fascination of emulsions

07Apr10

I do love mayonnaise. Especially the French one with mustard. However I’ve never made it myself as I’m a salmonellaphobic person. Then I read here and here about mayo made of milk and oil. Of course I had to try. And again. And again. …I think, I’m a mayo-addicted now.

The cool thing is: no more open glasses of old weird-looking mayo that’s nearly living as long in your fridge as you in your appartment because one glass is too much for one person. Even for me who loves mayo. This recipe makes about 3-4 big tablespoons of mayo. In no time! Don’t be afraid that it could be complicated. Just don’t look exactly, how much oil you add – it’s kind of scary… Calories are a lie.

After trying a little bit, I make my own version: I use a mix milk:oil = 1:1,5 (instead of 1:2 or 1:3) and add more mustard. I tried also to add some olive oil, but it turned out kind of bitter, so I continue using the cheap, tasteless colza oil. Let’s start!

In a small tall recipient (for working with a hand blender/Pürierstab) put 50 ml milk, 1-1,5 tsp mustard, a pinch of salt, 2 generous pinches of sugar.

Before you start to use the hand blender, put next to you vinegar or lemon juice and about 75-100 ml oil.

Now start to mix well the ingredients you have already put into the recipient, go up and down. Add about 3 drops of vinegar (altogether maybe about 1 tsp)  into this mix (keep on blending), then – always blending, up and down and up and down – add the oil; slowly and dropwise, particularly in the beginning. Add a pinch of salt (it’s written at la mia cucina that salt destabilizes the emulsifying parts in the milk. So I propose to add it in the end)

If you start to wonder if the result will ever not be liquid any more, keep on blending and adding the oil. You’re just doing right. Just a little time after you start wondering, the consistency will change!

3 Responses to “The fascination of emulsions”

  1. 1 Evi

    Robert hat erst gestern zu diesem Thema eine kleine Abhandlung geschrieben: http://lamiacucina.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/mayonnaise-ohne-ei-warum-es-auch-ohne-geht/
    Die erklärt das auch mit dem Olivenöl. :)


  1. 1 Copycook: Okonomiyaki « la grosse mere

Leave a Reply

