a baking addict bakes again

14Mar10

When I read this post, I knew I had to try these buns. It sounded too good and too interesting, as you pour milk and butter over the buns while baking them. Finally I had the time to try the recipe. As I couldn’t think of anything else but the combination of chocolate, pears and walnuts this week, I made chocolate-pear-walnut-buns.

you need for about 12 buns:

500 g flour
20 g fresh yeast (or 1 package of dried yeast)
50 g butter
2 handfuls sugar (Aniko uses 4 tsp; I could use a lot more…)
1 egg (Aniko uses 1 egg yolk, but I didn’t know what to do with the egg white, so I reduced the amount of milk)
about 250 ml milk
1 pinch of salt

150 ml milk
50 g butter

7-8 tsp of icing sugar
4-5 tsp cocoa powder
3 pears (I used 3, but it could have been more, maybe 5?)
2 handfuls of walnuts

Make the dough: heat the milk until lukewarm (if the butter is too cold and not spreadable, I melt the butter in the milk), knead flour, yeast, sugar, salt, milk, egg and butter to a dough (It should be quite soft but not sticky) and let it rise for about 1-1,5 hours (until it has doubled its volume).

Then using a rolling pin roll out the dough in a rectangle. Using a colander, cover the dough with icing sugar and cocoa powder. Peel the pears and cut them in little pieces – arrange them on top. Then do the same with the walnuts (Chop them before). Make a firm roll and using a sharp knife, cut about 12 buns.

Butter a casserole and put the buns in the casserole. Then preheat the oven to 180°C and wait until the buns have risen (about 15 minutes). Bake for 15 minutes; Heat milk and butter until the butter has melted and pour over the buns. Then continue baking for 15 minutes more (or longer, if needed)

…I think, pouring milk over the buns while baking makes them very fluffy – and next time, I’ll add more sugar, but I do love eating sweeeeeeeeet things. So just try yourself!

I freezed a whole bunch of these buns – for breakfast I can put them out of the freezer in the evening and then I’ll just have to organize some coffee…

One Response to “a baking addict bakes again”


  1. 1 Kakaoschnecken-Rattenschwanz « Paprika meets Kardamom

Leave a Reply

