The love for three oranges

28Feb10

If you want to make me eat oranges, either you have to squeeze them to juice or you have to hide them. In salad for example.  With fennel. That’s how I can cheat on myself to eat more fruit. I’m not a real fruit-eater. I eat my 5 a day by eating veggies.

Cut one fennel bulb into bite-sized pieces. Put the green part aside and chop it. Peel an orange (I’m very complicated with fruit. And I don’t like the white skins in oranges. Even if they are healthy – I just don’t like them. So I always take my huge knife and peel the orange pretty generously with my knife. Then I cut wedges using my knife. At the end I squeeze the rest to get out the juice of it…) and cut wedges. Squeeze 1/2 lemon and add 2 tblsp of olive oil. Mix in a salad bowl and season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped green parts of the fennel for decoration.

4 Responses to “The love for three oranges”

  1. 1 Anna-Maria

    reeeaaaalllyyy good is fennel, cucumber and apple salad: chopped, and then just add sesame oil (a few drops) and soy sauce (generously). NOTHING ELSE needed… so fast and SO GOOD!

  2. Ich bin auch nicht so der Obst-Esser, definitiv lieber ‘ne Tomate oder ein Stück Gurke :-) Aber der Salat sieht gut aus! Kann bestimmt auch die ein oder andere Nudel untermogeln, um es für ein Büro-Mittag etwas sättigender zu machen :-)

    • Nudeln dazu? Hmmm, hab ich mir noch nie wirklich überlegt… Nudeln und knackiger Fenchel? Hmmm. Kann ich mir grad nicht so gut vorstellen, aber das könnte einen Versuch wert sein! Ich nehm halt noch immer irgendwas anderes dazu mit. Aber ja, warum nicht :-)


Leave a Reply

