Exceptions for exceptional food

23Feb10

I do love my mum’s Quiche Lorraine. It’s the best Quiche I know. I probably like it as it doesn’t contain too much egg. I don’t like the “eggy” flavour of many Quiches you can find anywhere.

So for this Quiche I make an exception and post a recipe which is not vegetarian.

As a big quiche is not easy to eat alone, I made mini-Quiches that I put into the freezer. Getting them out there in the evening helps preparing a found-in-the-fridge-bento!

First, make a dough:

For a 26-cm-baking pan, use

200 g flour
100 g butter (or a mix of butter and margarine)
1 egg
a pinch of baking powder
a pinch of salt
some water (as much as needed…)

For the mini-Quiches I took 300 g flour, 150 butter, and 1 egg. It hasn’t been the perfect dough-filling-ratio for the minis though – I had some filling left…

Cool the dough at least for 1 hour in the fridge, roll it out and put it in a baking pan. Put this pan back into the fridge.

For the filling you need:

150 g bacon (diced)
2 onions (chopped)
150-200 g grated cheese
1/8-1/4 l milk (or a mix of milk and cream)
1 tblsp starch flour
2 eggs
salt
pepper
nutmeg

In a pan, fry the bacon (no oil needed) and add the onions. Sauté for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile preheat the oven (180-200°C) and bake the crust for about 10 minutes. (It’s important that the baking pan with the dough comes directly from the fridge!)

Whisk together starch flour, milk, eggs and seasonings.

Put bacon and onions in the prepared crust, cover with cheese and then pour the filling over it. Bake for about 30-35 minutes.

If you make minis, just observe it well, it takes maybe 15-20 minutes.

2 Responses to “Exceptions for exceptional food”

  1. Oh, ihr macht Stärke rein! Gute Idee, um die Eimenge zu reduzieren! Ich hab zwar schon einige Quiches gemacht, aber noch keine Lorraine, sollte ich mal nachholen :-)
    Warum isst Du eigentlich kein (kaum) Fleisch? Ethische und geschmackliche Gründe? So, mal rein aus Interesse gefragt :-)

    • Ja, genau, das ist der Trick ;-)
      Ich mach den Guß auch immer für Spinat- oder sonstige Gemüsekreationen. Kein Fleisch: Also… doch, ich eß schon auch Fleisch, z. B. bei Muttern, aber für mich koch ich im Prinzip vegetarisch. Weil allgemein bekannt ist, daß der Fleischkonsum hierzulande deutlich zu hoch ist; Energieverschwendung, Treibhausgase, … und so weiter (oh, das klingt jetzt fundamtenalistisch öko, jaja… Na, fundamentalistisch bin ich nicht, würde ich sagen). Und weil auch klar ist, daß nicht die ganze Welt mit so viel Fleisch ernährt werden kann, wie hierzulande gefuttert wird. (Nicht, daß da mein Beitrag viel bringen würde, aber…) – also eher solche Gründe.
      Geschmacklich: Fleisch eß ich eigentlich vom Geschmack her ganz gerne, das isses also nicht. Ich denk mir nur immer “es muß doch möglich sein, auch leckeres ohne Fleisch zu kochen” – und Gemüse eß ich einfach sehr gerne. Mich stört es immer, daß richtig festliche Gerichte eigentlich immer mit Fleisch sein müssen. Ich bin noch auf der Suche nach dem vegetarischen Optimum ;-)


Leave a Reply

