How Asian is this food?

24Jan10

I don’t know if you could call this dish “Asian”, but in Europe you could. In Asia maybe not… Anyways, it’s good and it’s easy (I think, I write these two words in every post, don’t I? Maybe I should get more creative) – and I love the combination of orange and green…

Boil as many noodles (I used Japanese noodles that I found in my cupboard) as you want. Drain them.

Cut about 100 g of tofu in small cubes

chop
1/2 leek
1 carrot

Heat oil in a large skillet. When it’s very hot, fry the tofu – it should become brown and firm (I don’t like wobbly, soft tofu with no taste. I just don’t.). Lower the heat, add the leek and the carrot.
Grate a little peace of ginger. Add it. Sauté everything for some minutes – check that the leek is as done as you want it.

Add the noodles.

In a bowl, mix

2 tsp of peanut paste (well, this pure peanut stuff you get in stores for organic food) or peanut butter
1-2 tsp of soy sauce
1 tsp of lemon juice
1 tsp of honey
about 2-4 tsp of water (depends on how liquid you want your sauce)

Mix everything together and season with salt and chili if needed.
I put this meal in my bento (the veggies on top of the noodles, that’s why you don’t see any noodles in the picture) and put the sauce in a little bowl aside. When I had my lunch, I put everything together. As peanut sauce gets more sticky when you let it sit for a while, I made it quite liquid using about 4 tsp of water – if you eat this dish immediately, use less water.

2 Responses to “How Asian is this food?”

  1. Ich kann jetzt nicht beurteilen wie asiatisch das ist, hatte noch keinen Fuß auf asiatischem Boden, aber es hört sich verdammt wohlschmeckend an! Machst Du Dir Dein Bento-Essen auf Arbeit (auf Arbeit bei Dir?) noch warm oder ißt es bei Raumtemperatur? Tofu will ich auch immer nochmal koste …

    • Aus Mangel an Mikrowelle eß ich’s immer kalt – bin aber bei kaltem Essen auch recht schmerzfrei. Ok, es gibt Dinge, die ich auch nicht gut finde, wenn sie kalt geworden sind, aber ich glaub, andere Leute haben da engere Schmerzgrenzen ;-)
      Und Tofu find ich echt deutlich eßbarer, wenn man ihn recht klein schneidet und ordentlich anbrät, dann wird die Konsistenz fester und nicht so schwabbelig geschmackfrei…


Leave a Reply

