Being a kraut…

07Jan10

Maybe people will find sauerkraut a pretty uncool food. I do love it. And I admit that I love it. Last time I tried a new good-old food: new as it was new for me, but it’s traditional Swabian food: Krautkrapfen. After studying different recipes I created my own vegan version – normally the dough would be with eggs and the fillig would contain bacon.

For about 12 Krautkrapfen (I know, this makes more than 1 serving, but making a dough of 50 g flour?! I don’t know. I also liked them cold) you need:

100 g flour
40-50 g water

1 small can of sauerkraut (about 300-400 g)
1 onion
a little bit of oil
caraway seeds

margarine

about 1/8 l of vegetable stock

Knead the flour and the water very well to make a firm and elastic dough. Cover and let rest for about 1 hour.

Chop the onions, sauté them for some minutes in a little bit of oil and add the sauerkraut. Heat everything and let it cook for some time until it’s done (maybe this wouldn’t even be necessary, I think I let it cook for about 15 minutes). Let it cool.

Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough in a rectangle shape; it should be quite thin. Arrange the sauerkraut on its surface (leave about 1-2 cm on one of the long edges and put some water there so it will stick), season with caraway seeds and  make a roll. Cut into 12 pieces.

In a large skillet, heat the butter and add the pieces of Krautkrapfen. Let them fry for 3-4 minutes, lower the heat, add the vegetable stock and cover with a lid. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes.

I think, next time I’ll try to fry them from both sides before adding the stock. If they don’t fall apart….

No Responses Yet to “Being a kraut…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

