Boiling citrus fruits?!

30Nov09

At fool for food I found a recipe for gluten-free orange-almond cake. Luckily I can eat gluten. However it’s always good to know some good gluten-free recipes. But what made me really curious was that oranges were boiled for 2 hours and then blended (with the peel) before being added to the batter.

Of course I had to run immediately for doing the groceries to try this recipe myself. As I didn’t want to buy oranges from South Africa (too far away), I got tangerines and one lemon (from Spain…)  to add a little bit more zing; I used 4 instead of 6 eggs and baked the batter in muffin tins.

They looked a bit wizen (is that the correct word?!) but the test-eaters liked the muffins as well as I did. They are a little bit bitter, so you probably won’t like them if you don’t like orange marmelade. The cake got very moist.

That’s how I made it:

Boil 4 tangerines and 1 lemon(Make sure that they’re organic products as you’ll eat the whole fruit) for about 2 hours in water. They become very soft and flabby.  Cut them in halves and  put away the seeds.

Grind 250 g of almonds – I toasted them (after grinding) a little bit in a skillet (don’t use oil) for enhancing the taste of the almonds.

Beat together in the blender 4 eggs and 250 g sugar.
Add the tangerines and the lemon, blend well.

Mix the almonds with 1 tsp of baking powder, add the egg-sugar-citrus-fruit mix, stir with a wooden spoon and fill in 12 muffin tins. Bake it for about 30 minutes in the preheated oven (175°C) until a toothpick comes out dry if you insert it.

2 Responses to “Boiling citrus fruits?!”

  1. Toasting the almonds is definetely something I’ll do next time I bake the cake. 6 egss might soften the bitterness of the oranges a bit. Think I would have liked your muffins – I love marmelade!

    • I imagine that oranges are still a little bit more bitter than tangerines, but I think that the comparison with marmelade works quite well to describe the taste. Next time I want to try it only with lemons and maybe add a little bit of corn starch to make it more like a “real” cake.
      But I’m fond of boiling citrus fruits now – thank you for the idea!!


Leave a Reply

