Soljanka

24Nov09

No, I don’t know where the original recipe comes from.  And I don’t know, what “Soljanka” means. What I know is, that it’s a soup which is well known in Eastern Germany. I got to know it when I was working as a volunteer in a soup kitchen in Berlin a long time ago. Maybe the list of the ingredients doesn’t sound very appealing, but I like the mix of sweet and sour – usually, dices of Fleischwurst (sausage) are added. But what’s the English word for Fleischwurst?? Anyways, as I never buy sausage,  I omit it and make a vegetarian version:

 

For 2 big bowls of soup you need:

1 onion
1 bell pepper (red or yellow)
1 can tomatoes (400g)
about 4-5 tblsp of sauerkraut
4 pickles
4 generous tblsp ketchup (yup. ketchup.)
1 bay leaf
some dashes of allspice
oil

Heat the oil in a big pot and chop the onions. Sauté the onions, chop the bell pepper and add it. Sauté for some minutes, cut the pickles. Add all ingredients, cut the tomatoes if necessary, and let it boil for a while. Season with salt and pepper, if necessary.

No Responses Yet to “Soljanka”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

