There were green people walking in my oven…

09Nov09

DSC00218A special day in Germany: 20 years ago the wall in Berlin has fallen! My cookie cutters that I bought in Berlin (no, I didn’t need cookie cutters. And yes, I had to buy them…!) told me that this would be the perfect occasion for their inauguration: they are in the shape of the Ampelmännchen of  Eastern Germany (now you can also sometimes find them in the West!) – and cookies in this shape are today the perfect little gift for my collegues who were born in the GDR.

I just made simple butter cookies with a basic “1-2-3-dough” (one part sugar, two parts cold butter, 3 parts flour – the parts are counted in weight, I used 100, 200 and 300g) where I added more salt (1/2 tsp) than usual (like in shortbread), one egg yolk (for getting rid of leftovers, right… and which wouldn’t have been necessary for this dough) and lots of food colour.

For making the dough, knead butter and sugar (and the egg yolk) for a short time and add the flour. Knead until you can form one ball, but not longer!!! Wrap it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. Let it rest for at least one hour – up to maybe 1 week.

For making the cookies, get the dough out of the fridge, knead it a little bit until it’s soft enough for being rolled with a rolling pin. Cut it with a cookie cutter and put it on a cookie sheet. Bake them in the oven (preheated at 175°C) for about 8 minutes.

One Response to “There were green people walking in my oven…”

  1. 1 Anna-Maria

    Hey, really nice idea. I don’t really like baking, but if I would, I would bake these little guys!!! Love your blog.


Leave a Reply

