Mamas Kartoffelsuppe

07Nov09

DSC00211When I cook potato soup, there’s no other way to prepare it than this. For potato soup, I start arguing, if necessary.  The regular question of my mother “what do you want to eat?” when I come for a visit is often answered by “potato soup”.

My mom prepares this soup with bacon instead of oil – I always make the vegetarian version.

You need for 1 hungry person (these quantities are rather a full meal than just a little soup):

1 small onion
2 big potatoes
paprika
marjoram
salt
pepper

2 tblsp vinegar

2 cups (about 500 ml) water

1 tblsp oil

Heat the oil in the soup pot, add the chopped onion and sauté for some minutes. Peel the potatoes and cut them in small cubes. Add them sauté with the onion for some more minutes.
Sprinkle with salt (about 1/2 tsp), lots of paprika, even more marjoram and some pepper.
Add the vinegar, then the water. Cover the pot and bring to a boil. Boil the soup at low temperature until the potatoes are done.
Serve with sour cream.
For me, there is also only one way to eat this soup: garnish with 1-2 tblsp sour cream and mash the potatoes with a fork. (Then it’s not really a soup anymore, but I don’t care. I love it this way)

4 Responses to “Mamas Kartoffelsuppe”

  1. 1 Anna-Maria

    it’s also nice with some caraway seeds (Kümmel), and you can basically add all sorts of root vegetables you like (carrots, etc), and just put them in at the beginning…(for non vegetarians you could also put bacon in the mix, just also fry it with the onions…)

    • oh, yes, that’s what I meant: bacon. I corrected it in the post (I probably wrote “lards” meaning bacon, as I had the French word “lardons” in my mind…)

  2. 3 Anna-Maria

    ps: du solltest die supper auch unter kartoffeln ablegen…

    • wurde natürlisch sofocht jemacht! sollte aber auch über die tags unter potato zu finden sein – aber wenn man das schon unter mehreren rubriken anlegen kann, kann man das ja gerne nutzen!


Leave a Reply

